Industry News Centre

The bfa Professional Affiliate and Supplier Award Winners Revealed!

The British Franchise Association (bfa) is thrilled to announce the winners of its new Professional Affiliate and Supplier Awards. The ceremony took place at the bfa’s Annual Conference 2018, on 29 June at the ICC in Birmingham, highlighting some of the very best advisors amongst its membership in the UK today.

The bfa is the not-for-profit self-regulatory governing body for the franchise sector and both sets and enforces the standards for ethical business format franchising in partnership with its members in the UK. Franchising is a simple relationship between two parties, the franchisor who owns the brand and business system, and the franchisee who contracts to run a copy of that business in a local area. 

The bfa welcomed Professional Affiliates as a category into membership in 1985, as critical partners for the Association in its central mission to ensure the high standards demanded by the ethical business format franchising model. This specific group of members has been very significant in the on-going development of the Associations standards, collaborating on industry intelligence, evolving legislation and real-world changes in franchising practice.

These brand new awards for 2018 are in recognition of the excellent work of professional affiliates and suppliers in the franchising sector who have demonstrated outstanding business acumen, innovation and achievement, amongst many other qualities. 

Pip Wilkins, CEO of the bfa, explained: “We are really proud that this year and going forward we will be recognising some of the amazing achievements and contributions of both Professional Affiliates and Suppliers. Year on year we will evolve these awards in line with the evolution of our sector, just as we have for our industry leading Franchisor and Franchisee awards. 

We don’t underestimate the time it takes to enter any awards programme and we would like to thank those of you that took the time to do this.”  

The winners for each category are:


Innovation & Development Award

The judges were looking for a company that is leading the way in franchising. To win this award they will have evidenced the development of a new product or service that has enhanced the franchising sector and delivered measurable business benefits. They will be able to demonstrate why this is an important product or service to help franchisors and franchisees grow and develop.

•    Winner: D&T 

Pip Wilkins, CEO of the bfa, commented: “I’m delighted to be able to congratulate D&T on winning this award. They have revolutionised their industry and made the services they offer integral to monitoring effective business performance and enabling cost saving, network wide decisions to be made by franchisors to the benefit of their franchisees.”

Industry Contribution Award 

All entrants are eligible for this Award. It’s not about how big their portfolio in franchising is, it is about what they have given back! The entry needed to focus on what has been done for the wider franchising community, specifically how they have contributed to the overall promotion of ethical standards in franchising. 

•    Winner: HSBC 

Pip Wilkins, CEO of the bfa, commented: “With economic commentaries that are second to none, a leading edge and bespoke franchise website, major development of their UK team and replication of their UK model internationally, I’m thrilled to congratulate HSBC on winning this award and wish them all the best for the future!”

Team of the Year Award 

This award is for the company that can demonstrate how the development or implementation of its strategy has helped meet objectives and improve the franchise customer experience. Specifically how have they achieved greater market share or improved your franchise services during the past 12 months. What training and development have they offered. The winning company will show how what they do is fundamental to franchisors and franchisees achieving their own business goals.  

•    Winner: The Franchising Centre 

Pip Wilkins, CEO of the bfa, commented: “This team clearly articulated a strong vision, mission and values, evidenced during a crucial period of strategic transition with a focus on developing their team members. As they say, train them and they will stay! This is a team that has ample of experience, more than 200 years combined in fact! Let’s hope their ‘next generation’ management team can take them to the next level, many congratulations on the win and best of luck for the future”. 

Customer Service

This Award is open to any company that prides itself on the excellence of its customer service. The winner of this award will need to present an overview of how quality service is identified and how it is delivered within the organisation. Evidence of support from customer satisfaction surveys and/or customer testimonials is crucial to the judge’s assessment of each entry.

•    Winner: Platinum Wave 

Pip Wilkins, CEO of the bfa, commented: “Not only have they sought to offer first class service, but they have also recognised the need to participate in industry events which has given them both greater brand recognition and built their credibility in our sector. I’m pleased to see their hard work recognised with this award and wish them all the best for the future.”

With plans for 2019 already in motion as always the bfa is keen to hear feedback from its members on this years’ conference and awards, particularly thoughts and suggestions for next year. With a new venue and even bigger conference and awards ceremony planned, the bfa is currently welcoming new applications for sponsorship and engagement across its entire inventory, so act now and contact the bfa directly if you want to get involved.        

Latest News

bfa Monthly Franchise Insights

Free franchising webinar

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to browse this site, you give consent for cookies to be used. For more details, please read our Cookie Policy.